Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

Gave me Chills

I have a story. This blog won’t do it justice but here it goes.  This all happened in a period of 12 hours I think. From last night to this morning. My friend has been going through a lot lately. Nothing has seemed to have been going right in his life, just one let down after another. Physically, mentally, his job, its all been a big whirlwind of disaster for the past year. He’s a christian and has been for a long time, but he just didn’t understand the reasoning behind God taking away certain things in his life. We have had discussion after discussion about this and we both know that God was prepping him for something. God lets storms enter our lives in order to correct us or prep us. Sometimes both. So yesterday, my friend had just come home, I think from the gym, and needed to get a shower. He had felt that God was wanting him to spend some time in his word, but at the time he told God, NO! Walking into his room in the complete darkness he headed to the shoer. When he was done he returned to his room, knowing it was completely dark when he went through to the bathroom (no lights work in his room), but when he walked in his, a headlamp used for hunting was turned on and shining directly upward. It’s one of those lamps that you have to turn the knob really hard for it to come on, and he hasn’t touched it since last fall. Oh, and he lives alone. It scared him a little, but he just turned it off and went to the living room. Again, in his head he felt God telling him to read John. So he finally set down with his bible, but he heard, 1 JOHN ! (i recommend reading 1 John chapter 1 its short but I’ll share with you a few verses)

1 John chapter 1 verses 5-7: 5This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 6If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth. 7But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all[b] sin.

When he told me this story I got chills all over. God was telling him His “WIHL”, Walk. In. His. Light. (my friend made that up last night and i thought it was awesome. At least we think he did?) Anyway. He feels God has been prepping him and taking away the things that are holding him back from walking in His light and is wanting to use him for His glory. He also said that for the first time he found “love…true love”. He is so right, God’s love is “true love”. We think we know true love in our earthly relationships, but even the love that parents feel for their children doesn’t compare to the love that Jesus has for us.

Let me continue. This morning I woke up and my bible was still on the counter opened to 1 John. I put my coffee on and thought I’d go outside and read a little. I’ve been bad about spending alone time in His word. Instead of the bible, I felt I needed to go grab my mom’s daily devotional book I bought her years ago for mother’s day. I was going to open it to todays date, but instead just opened it to where the bookmark was. (she’s not even in town and has no clue about last night) I began to read the devotion for March 3rd and this is what it said…

Isaiah 50:10 Who among you walks in darkness, and has no light? Let him trust in the name of the Lord; let him lean on his God.

Pretty much, Satan tries everything he can to bring us down. But if we daily seek God’s light, then he has no power over us and we will succeed. Being humans, we all stray from where we should be in our spiritual walk, but thankfully our God welcomes us back with open arms. “His light will always lead us right back to the path” Beth Moore (the last sentence of the devotion). Of course, I immediately told my friend about my morning readings. Isn’t God awesome? I love to sit back and watch Him work in my life and in others. Though we may not see at this very moment where He is leading us , we can rest assured that it’s good, bc God is good, and He’s working in the middle of all things, at all times.

Love each of you!

Prayer request: my friend Karlee needs your prayers for her son, Gage. Karlee is my age and her son is 7. He has been battling a brain tumor for years now and last night I received a text that he has had a mini stroke. They took him to Nashville for tests and thank the Lord he is back to normal today. It was a type of stroke that wears off, so he regained function. I recieved a text today from her saying “God is so good”. That is FAITH when you can watch your little boy go through something like that and still give God glory! Karlee, i love you and you rock. If you good people could take a few moments for a short prayer, though he IS doing better. I know she would appreciate it. Thanks.


6 Responses to “Gave me Chills”

  1. Thank you for sharing! That is very powerful! Rob

  2. God is amazing!

  3. Erin, you’re awesome. I love you.


Leave a Reply

