Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

I went for a walk today…

…not for exercise but because I was cold. I slipped on my vibram 5 finger shoes because I like to feel the earth under my feet…as I stepped outside I immediately felt the sun touch my skin and I thought…GOD IS GOOD! Being by myself I started to reflect upon on my day, week, year, my life…

I worked on a client this week for 90 minutes who had been in pain and I received a text message that said “I feel so much better. Thank you for helping me.” It made me smile, and I thought…GOD IS GOOD!

I went to kroger today and they didn’t have what I needed so I had to drive to the other kroger (yes, it frustrated me.) When I was there i saw a young girl about 10 years old with down syndrome and she was SO HAPPY. I smiled at her and she laughed and then she blew me a kiss. I blew one back and I thought…GOD IS GOOD.

I’ve been battling a headache all week and I didn’t want to go to the gym, but while I was there, I met a boy who was bored with life, he packed up 5 years ago, became a professional snowboarder and has been to 45 different states…he’s only 26. I’m really glad I got to meet him. There I was finishing up my workout, and with sweat on my face, of course my hair in a turd, a cut off tee shirt revealing white streaks down my arm where i was sloppy with the deoderant, and a man stopped me to say “i just wanted to tell you how pretty you are”. When I smiled he said, “now you’re the prettiest girl I’ve ever seen”. I finished up and walked outside and realized my headache was gone. I was very happy i decided to go to the gym and I thought…GOD IS GOOD!

While walking, I thought about where I was last weekend, and how I got up last Thursday at 430am to drive 6 hours to Ohio. I was SO SLEEPY while driving but I made it safely. I got to hang out with some of the best people in the world that I just met a year ago. They make me feel so loved and full life. I drove home 6 hours on Saturday starting at 9:15pm. I made it home at 3 am in one piece and as I climbed into bed that morning i thought…GOD IS SOOOO GOOD!

While walking I had probably 10 random people i have never seen before smile and wave at me. i thought…GOD IS GOOD!

I stopped off at the school playground beside my house and went across the monkey bars. I looked down at my hands that hurt and saw the calluses I had accumulated over the past 2 years. Those calluses were caused by the strength and determination that God gave me and because of those calluses I have done things I never thought were possible in my life, and because of those calluses I met the most wonderful people in the world. and i thought…GOD IS GOOD.

I walked up a hill with the sun on my face and sweat on my nose, i realized I was no longer cold, but the total opposite. At the top I turned around to start back home and the nicest breeze hit my face and cooled my skin and i thought…GOD IS GOOD.

That breeze stayed with me the whole way home and on the way back I thought about how blessed I am and Thankful for my health, strength, and all the love that is in my life…it was the best walk I ever had.

10 Responses to “I went for a walk today…”

  1. Wow Erin! Thanks for sharing those moments in your life. It’s times like those that so many people take for granted. You, my friend, definitely take time to “smell the roses” and understand and appreciate how precious the “little things” in life can be. I’m honored to know you as a friend šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see you again!

  2. Awesome Post, Erin!!! You are a great reminder that God has put us in places and situations for our own good. It’s realizing what that “good” is. Thanks for making me cherish the moments and joy that each day brings. I am so thankful that I was one of your Ohio friends that you got to spend time with last weekend!

  3. Love this post Erin. I have been through some tough times in my life and I lost my only sister when she was 17. It still breaks my heart every day of my life. But I have been so blessed with an amazing husband, wonderful parents, healthy children, and true friends. GOD IS GOOD. I feel so blessed.

  4. thank you for your comments. i love every one of you with all my heart and i can’t wait to see yall again in two weeks.

  5. great writing lady!!!! my wife has seizures and just had another before i read this, as i was waiting for her to come around my whole life flashed to how the future would be without her and i felt heartbroken. every day i feel thankful for her and the people that are close to me.

  6. You continue to always be an inspiration to me! I love and miss you!

  7. What a awesome post to read first thing Sunday morning! God is Good!!!
    The past couple of years have been the hardest years of my life. Losing my Mom is something I still battle everyday. BUT, God has surrounded me with so many beautiful people in my life to help me through my tough times. I am blessed! ~

    • johnnie. i’m so blessed that you stalked me so we could become friends haha. really, i am very blessed that i have you in my life now. i know this you’ve had a tough time since your mom. i’ll continue to keep praying for you…loves!


Leave a Reply

