Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

“I don’t wanna look like a man”

I can’t tell you how many times women have approached me on advice on how to tone up or put on muscle, and somewhere in the middle of the conversation I will ALWAYS hear…”I don’t wanna look like a man, with bulky muscles”. Obviously, if this girl is coming to me for advice, they see my muscle and don’t mind it. Well I’m here to tell you, I lift heavier than some men in my gym, but there is NO WAY I will ever put on the amount of muscle needed to “look like a man”. In order for that to happen, I would have to change my supplement regimen and add a steroid, which I will never do. Men have about 15 times the amount of testosterone that women have, thus what gives them the capability of having manly muscles. We don’t have the genetic makeup to put on mass like men.

With all this being said, there is NO REASON why a woman should train any differently than a man. When we observe a man training in the gym, what do we see? We see heavy weights and depending on their goals of either strength training or muscle building, determines the amount of reps. For strength training most will choose a weight that will end on rep 6 for 3-4 set. For muscle building a weight is chosen that will allow you to only complete 6-12 reps. NOW. Let’s look at what we see most females doing. She walks in, goes straight to the cardio deck performs 30-60 minutes of cardio, gets off, and spends 15-20 minutes on a few machines or if we are lucky we see her pick up free weights maxing out at about 10lbs and she performs about 15-20 reps, and she could probably do more reps but decides to stop. Who likes counting past 20, right? Now I think high reps are totally fine if your goals are endurance training and only fat loss. But if you truly want sexy curves, strong bones, and physical strength, you need to pick up some heavy weight. TRAIN LIKE A MAN! It’s okay.

On top, of lifting heavy weights you have to have the proper nutrition to get the results you want. This means if you are eating a Dannon’s Light and Fit yogurt and a banana for breakfast, you need a diet make over. That is not gonna give you a tight butt, or sexy arms. Your body needs protein. You need to focus on 20-30 grams of protein per meal and you need to eat 3 meals a day with at least 2 snacks between. Added to that you need proper carbs and essential fatty acids. Your carbs NOT coming from processed sugars, but fruits, veggies and complex carbs. Essential Fatty Acids are what they say, ESSENTIAL, meaning your body needs them to survive. They also help in the muscle building and fat loss process. A good macronutrient for a body with these goals is a 40/40/20. Out of your daily caloric intake 40% should come from protein, 40% from carbohydrates and 20% from good fats. Also hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Your muscle is 70% water and it needs it.

A few things to remember:

  • for every pound of muscle you put on, you will burn an extra 50 calories a day, doing absolutely nothing.
  • your body is like a car and it needs fuel to run. feed it the proper foods and it will run a long time!
  • muscle takes a while to put on. its a lot easier to put on fat, so don’t get discouraged. results take time and persistence.
  • men and women should train the same! there isn’t an exception for each gender. and boys it’s totally okay to take a yoga/body pump/step/spinning or bootcamp for some HIIT fat burning workout. no judging here.
  • get a good BCAA (branch chain amino acid) Glutamine supplement. this will help with recovery and muscle building. my favorite is Scivation Xtend.
  • a good protein powder for a quick meal is good as well. Beverly International’s Ultimate Muscle Protein is my favorite, but Scivation also has a good one called Solution 5.
  • also get a good EFA supplement. Beverly and Scivation both have good ones. Fat burns fat!

Train heavy and train smart. Strong is the new sexy!

PS. i just opened my newest oxygen magazine and this was quoted by the cover model, Angelike Psoinos, “I’ll use 30 pound dumbbells for bicep curls, eight 45 pound plates for leg presses and 115 pounds for lat pulldowns.” If you don’t receive Oxygen, take a look at the cover model of the October issue. should be on shelves next week.

8 Responses to ““I don’t wanna look like a man””

  1. Erin;
    You have said it all. That was great!

  2. Great info Erin! Thanks for posting this! I’m ready to start!

  3. i think most women keep using that excuse as a reason to keep on being lazy.

  4. craig, i think that when people say “i wish i had your discipline”, thats an excuse to be lazy.

  5. Erin, this post was great! 🙂 I try to tell my clients this daily. It is so funny….some people think they are going to get bulky overnight! It has taken me 5+ years of lifting very heavy to put on the muscle I have now.

  6. Great blog! I wanted to thank you for quoting me from my interview with Oxygen. I tell women all the time, you do not get bulky from lifting heavy weights. You get bulky from eating improperly. You should lift heavy in the gym – that’s why they call it “weight training.”

    All the best,
    Angelike Psoinos

    • thanks for taking the time to read my blog. it’s always good to see beautiful strong, NON BULKY, women, lifting heavy weights. also, after research, nice to see someone shining God’s light. keep shining big!


Leave a Reply

