Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

UNSTOPPABLE

I have more than a ton on my mind, or maybe it’s heart, I get those confused sometimes. This past weekend I attended the 2010 Ky Muscle bodybuilding, figure, and bikini competition. Let me tell you. I saw some women that I’ve known for a year that have made remarkable changes in their bodies since their last competition. I saw women I met two months ago who made significant changes in that time. I met women who were super proud of what they accomplished and happy to be on that stage no matter what they placed. Yep, I think this sport is wonderful. It changes lives…i know it changed mine. I’ve grown stronger mentally, physically and spiritually. I accomplished things I never thought possible. I’ve made lifelong friends and continue to meet amazing women who have and are overcoming struggles. I competed 3 times last year. Those three saturday nights were some of the best of my life, but I don’t know if one compared to how I felt when I saw two of my best friends compete and take home first place, and being one of the first to hug their necks as they came off that stage. Or the feeling I felt just to see the smiles I saw on new friends who had lost 30 lbs and battled their weight for years and got up on that stage proud of what they accomplished. It was amazing! That, in my opinion is what this sport is all about. Not whether you take first, second, third or last. You can’t judge yourself on how you placed that particular night. Judge yourself on what you accomplished that night. You did something only.1% of women in this world will ever achieve. The dedication, determination, and discipline it takes to diet and exercise everyday for weeks and even months is something to be proud of itself. You can’t let the sport overcome you. You have to take every step as a learning experience of who you are.

I came home saturday night and on sunday morning my devotion was on Proverbs 31:17 “she dresses herself in strength and makes her arms strong”. I thought, WOW, that’s us! Our minds are strong, our bodies are strong, our spirits are strong. Nothing can stop us…My goal is to help women realize this. Not just in the fitness industry. I know the everyday woman and girl walking down the street is constantly being judged and judging themselves. I know these thoughts because I have had them myself. I’ve met numerous women this past year with eating disorders whether its overeating or WAY under eating. I’ve met women who think they are ugly inside and out because of things in their past. I want each woman to know they are strong and beautiful and their is ONE who will never judge you on outward appearance or things that have happened in the past and that’s God. He’s forever loving.

Ladies quit judging yourself on taking home first place, or whether you look as good as the woman next to you. Changes start from the inside and work their way out. Get things right, spiritually and mentally, and you’ll start making those outward changes you’ve been wanting to make. You’ll become strong and become that woman you want to be. You’ll be UNSTOPPABLE!

8 Responses to “UNSTOPPABLE”

  1. Erin, I love how you put this into words.
    I love that you’ve been through it.
    I love that you’re sharing it with others.
    The more people see that this is not a competition with each other but a way to commit themselves to being the capable, well equipped, women that they are. Putting into play their God given right to be strong and happy…the better off we’ll all be!
    Yes us hubby’s too πŸ™‚
    Rick

  2. Erin,
    You are exactly right, once again!!!! I love that you know just how we feel. And it is about what we can accomplish ourselves. I have meet many new and good friends through my own journey in this sport. It is about competing with yourself, no one else. This is a comment that a friend/fellow competitor said to me over the weekend. She is right!!!! We have to love ourselves to be able to make our selves better people. And yes, God loves us all no matter what! Congrats to all the women, not just competitors that have jumped in and decieded to become happy, healthy, and strong inside and out!! I love ya girl!!!! By the way Happy Birthday!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Erin,

    First off…HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

    This blog entry was absolutely AWESOME! You couldn’t have said things more eloquently! So many people, ladies especially are entirely consumed by this sport and allow it to ruin their relationship with others as well as themselves! They think that it’s ALL about winning the trophy and forget that it should be about the journey and what they accomplished to get there. I’ve only competed once, and will compete again, but what is most important to me is that I learn, grow and be grateful for how far I’ve come. It’s about being HEALTHY first for me. All the other stuff (glitz, glam, prizes, etc.) are just the icing on the cake. Well, in our case…the grilled chicken over the stir fry veggies!!

    Love ya girl,
    Ty

  4. Erin, you hit the nail on the head! And even for those of us who know this all to be true, we all need reminded of it from time to time. Especially walking off the stage after all the prep and coming down off the high of all the months of hard training and making it to show day:) Everyone always asks how you did? I wish there was a trophy for how far you’ve come. Because that is what it is all about. And yes Kim Little it is about competing with yourself and you are a winner in my heart and mind!!
    I am thankful for the wonderful friends i have met in this sport. It is and you are a part of me. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Erin:)

  5. Erin:
    You hit the nail on the head. You have great vision and I can relate to your most in so many ways! Keep on being the inspiration that you are!


Leave a Reply

