Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

it’s just a number

Fixated on that number you see on the scale? If  I was, I’d be depressed, because this past saturday I weighed exactly the same as I did 2 years ago when I was 16 weeks out from my first show.  Want to know the difference? Two years ago at this exact same weight my total body fat percentage was 4% higher than it is today and I had 7 more pounds of fat. What has happened in the last two years is, I have exchanged those 7 jiggly fat pounds for 7 pounds of lean muscle.

If you want to lose “weight” looking at the scale is a good gage, but if you are wanting to transform your body and lose FAT I wouldn’t rely on the scale to tell you your progress. I can easily lose 10 lbs. Tons of cardio + a low fat/low cal diet will get me there in no time. I’ve done it a dozen times! a few pounds of that weight loss might be actual fat but the majority will be fluid and muscle. Losing muscle is something you DON’T want to do. Muscle burns fat! Not to mention, it’s really pretty. Don’t even think about not eating for fat loss. Not eating is a good way to ruin your metabolism and become what many like to call skinny fat. When you don’t eat your body goes to the muscle first to burn as energy. Burning muscle only results in a slower metabolism and when you finally feed your body again its only gonna add fat on top of existing fat. EWWWWW!

You have to feed your body the right foods to transform. Plenty of protein, good fats, and complex carbs at the right times. You also have to exchange some of that cardio for heavy weights, its the only way you will build and preserve muscle. Rest and recovery is also key. AND Don’t let anyone tell you its impossible to gain muscle while also losing body fat. I’ve done it before and I’ve seen others do it as well.

So don’t get frustrated if you have been following a healthy diet and exercise plan (that includes weight training) and that scale hasn’t moved much. How do your clothes fit? and how do you feel about yourself when you look in the mirror? That’s what’s most important.

2 Responses to “it’s just a number”

  1. love it! great article.


Leave a Reply

