Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

Change your mind, change your life…acceptance is key.

“There are times in our lives when happiness seems to elude us.  We want more…we wish we were further along in our lives…we desire better relationships…better bodies (i added this part)…we try to push ourselves beyond where we are at the moment. Sometimes, all that is needed is a change of mind…a change called “acceptance”. With this change there comes a sense of peace and a sudden realization that a “shift in thinking” has brought us the very things we were looking for all along”. – card from books-a-million.

i read this card the other day and it hit my heart like a ton of bricks. number one i need to apply it to my own life, and number two i wanted to buy this for about 10 different people but opted to send it to one, buy a birthday card, and a random love note to a friend…cards are expensive. so to those who did not get this in the mail and need to hear it, know i was thinking of you, but this way fits my budget.

acceptance…all of our lives we strive for acceptance. to be in the in crowd, to make our parents proud, to be the best friend, daughter, son, husband, wife etc…what i’ve come to realize is, these people already accept me…they accepted me fat, lean, with a good job, jobless, happy and sad, being an angel or more like the devil…what my problem is, is i don’t always accept myself. i lost 20 lbs, i wanted 20 more. i got an A, i wanted an A+ (yes i made good grades). i screwed up really bad one time and i couldn’t forgive myself. I finally forgave myself (geezle petes. that took 3 years), i finally passed college algebra after dropping it twice (with an A), i lost 20 more pounds (plus 40 more), i got on stage in an over priced bikini ( and still felt like i didn’t belong)…i gained back 15 more pounds (now i really still see the old chubby erin)…does this sound familiar to anyone? if anyone doesn’t have at least one of these problems, i wish we could train brains for a day. i’ve been working on the issue of accepting myself for the past 3 years. i have gotten much better, really i have, but i still find these thoughts constantly creeping into my brain…i blame the devil…God looks at me and sees beauty, the devil, He puts the thoughts of NOT GOOD ENOUGH in my head…holding me back from being the ultimate ME…he wants me to see ugly so i’ll hide my face, and not shine the beauty that’s inside me…well i’m tired of it. i’m not stupid…why have i been telling myself that for years? bc i don’t measure up intellectually with my sister or cousins? now THAT’s stupid…i just have to spend a little more time studying, so what…i haven’t got the job i’ve been striving for the past 3 years, but it wasn’t bc i failed, i’ve passed the tests beyond the requirements. i guess its just not where i’m supposed to be yet. keep trying. i KNOW i’ll get there…i’m not as lean as i was 4 months ago on stage…you know what? i’m also nowhere close to being my old self. i feel strong. i have energy. i made that goal of getting on stage (i didn’t place but i still looked better than i have my whole life), i met the best friends anyone could ever ask for on this journey, my body can do things that most women OR men CANT DO! i’m not fat though MY eyes may tell me otherwise. my friends, family, some strangers think i look great…i need to listen to them more instead of that voice inside my head yelling YOU’LL NEVER BE GOOD ENOUGH!!!! i have so much to give and i don’t want those thoughts to hold me back any longer. if i wanna make a difference in this world (and that’s all i ever wanted to do), then i have to start accepting myself and the person that God made me. i am strong, i am smart, i do have a good heart…i also know that there is someone, or a lot out there that are stronger, smarter, and better people…i have to stop comparing myself to others and breathe easy knowing i’m trying my hardest, and i deserve to be proud of myself.

i say all of this, but i know tomorrow i will wake up with the same feelings, so this will be a constant battle. but i know where the healing starts. it doesn’t start with each pound of fat i lose, or every lb of muscle i gain. it starts in my head. accepting that i work hard every day, and i MAY not be the best at everything, the leanest, the prettiest, the smartest, or anywhere close to where i wanna be in life, but i’m doing all i can to be the best me that i can. life is a journey. you can’t get everything you want all at once. i accept that.

8 Responses to “Change your mind, change your life…acceptance is key.”

  1. Beautifully said… I love you Ms. Erin Rhoades and thank God every day for having you in my life.

  2. Wow! You read my mind Erin! I couldn’t have said this any better! This has been, and still is, one of my biggest battles for me in my life too! I guess I need to work on training my thoughts and mind as much as my body! I will start by remembering these words! Thank you for this post! 🙂 I love you girl and think you are awesome in so many ways! You truly are a blessing to my life!

  3. Amazing and very close to my heart for what is inspiring me to write my next column. The industry needs this. We all do. Its transitional for every aspect of life. I get it. I get you. I commend you for your candid nature. Keep pressing on toward the goal, young lady. 🙂

    • Thank you for reading angelike. God intertwined our minds for a reason. If not just to know someone out there thinks the same. It’s always good to know. Praying for you, that God continues to use you and bless you!

  4. Erin, in God eyes you are beautiful in heart and outside! see the devil comes in our minds…Remember pray and trust in God! He has a purpose for you and me.He will never leave you or nor forsaken you in any situation you can’t handle…Erin as the book of Daniel 12:3 The wise people will shine like the brightness of the sky. Those who teach others to live right will shine like stars forever and ever. That is you to me Erin you adviced me yesterday and you lift up my soul by telling me i can do it! and i will make it! Thank you Erin! God bless you! That verse will always remind me of you!

    • Pua! God crossed our paths yesterday for a reason. No doubt in my mind he had yesterday palm Ed for a long. So thankful for it and thankful for your prayers! You are so beautiful! God shines from every but of you. Praying for you always now! He has big plans for both of us. I feel it deep down in my soul. Thank you for that verse!


Leave a Reply

