Rhoades to Fitness
It's YOU vs. YOU

The 3 Main Lifts…

I don’t mean the squat, bench and dead-lift (though they are important and will be covered by 1/3 of this blog). I wanna dig a little deeper into the soul than that. I have 3 major passions in life, and if I didn’t make them a priority, I’d be lost, unhappy and weak. These 3 passions are God, people and weight training. Take note that those aren’t in random order. They are listed from most important to least important. That doesn’t mean I always do things that way, but it’s my goal to not put any one in front of the other. How do God, people and weight training tie together to make sense of the title? Well…just keep reading. 

 
3 MAIN LIFTS
1. Lift your eyes toward God
2. Lift others
3. Lift heavy stuff (weights, people, cars are all acceptable)
 
Lift your eyes toward God: As laid back and carefree as some tell me I appear to be, let me tell ya, I fight anxiety (daily). Since Kindergarden, I can remember getting myself so worked up about testing that I’d get sick to my stomach. Before every high school softball game I’d throw up because I was so scared of messing up (<–not being good enough). I guess this mentality pushed me to study and practice, and that paid off by graduating high school/college with honors, and holding a career fielding average for my softball team. But that lack of faith I had in myself stole so much joy from my life and though better, I frequently let it steal my joy today. All of us battle with demons of today, our past and fear for our future (<–that one’s me).  Instead, of losing sleep, appetite and daily joy, we have to remember to every single day lift our eyes to God. We can’t defeat these demons and fears alone, we have to scream out for help. It’s the only way. Psalm 121:1I lift my eyes unto the hills. From where does my help come? 2 My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.
 
Lift others: Loving, being selfless and putting your friends and family before you, even when it’s inconvenient, that’s being like Jesus. Even when I’m going through hardships of my own, I need to pray that God opens my eyes to the needs of others. I want to be there to pray, give a hug or lend an ear without being asked. I want to look past my own issues for a minute and pick up the friend that just lost her job, or is having financial problems, health issues, or is in/just got out of a bad relationship. Maybe by taking a moment to support a friend in need, I’ll realize my issues aren’t that bad and I should count my blessings. Galatians 6:2 Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.
 
Lift heavy stuff: This doesn’t only affect your physical health, but your mental health as well. Listen up! A weak physical body isn’t what God intended for us. The human body is the most amazing creation God ever made. He gave us the ability or should I say privilege to grow strong muscle. I don’t have time or the attention span to type all the benefits of weight training. Just a few include strengthening your bones, boosting your metabolism, having a better shape, you’ll become more awesome, happier (<–endorpins) and empowered. The pure excitement that over comes you as you physically push or pull a weight you never thought possible…it’s indescribable. I’m not just being crazy and speaking for myself here. I see women jump up and down and squeal as they hug me after I push them to add an extra 20 or even 50 pounds to what they were lifting the week before. Their body didn’t get that much stronger in the course of a week. They could have done it back then, but their mind was telling them they couldn’t. Oh, don’t let me forget about the boys! I’ve heard men grunt, then chest bump me and growl “that’s what I’m talkin’ bout!”, when they break an old personal record. It’s just plain fun! But to emphasize to you women one more time, there’s nothing wrong with being a strong girl. Proverbs 31:17 She dresses herself in strength and makes her arms strong. (<–Golly-Gee I love that one).  
 
I’m gonna do my best to keep these in the right order and practice each lift daily to become more proficient. 
Love y’all!
 
 
4 Responses to “The 3 Main Lifts…”

  1. Erin…this is beautiful!! I love your heart! And thanks for the laugh (no attention span to write all the benefits of training). Miss you XOXO!!

  2. You know how I feel about you and your “awesomeness” but this was truly fantastic. Thanks for sharing with all of us!! Miss you sweet pea! xoxo

  3. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you
    a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up
    the fantastic work!


Leave a Reply

